
Step-by-step help for Alabama DMV tasks, with fees, documents and official source links.
Pick a task. DMV.ai walks you through it, then hands you to the official site to finish.
DMV.ai is an independent guide and is not affiliated with any Alabama government agency.
Short answers from published guides, each with its official source.
Alabama residents update their driver license/ID address free using Form DL-99, which updates the record only (no new card). Vehicle registration addresses are handled separately through the county license plate office.
Alabama driver's licenses can be renewed online, by mail, or in person through the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA); most renewals require only a vision check unless documentation issues arise.
Just moved to Alabama? Driver license deadline: not stated. Vehicle title and registration deadline: not stated.
Alabama teens get a Stage I learner's permit at 15, a Stage II restricted license at 16 after 6 months, then an unrestricted license. Adults 18+ can complete testing in one visit.
Prepare for Alabama REAL ID using the official agency instructions. Confirm current requirements before visiting.
Prepare for Alabama first-time vehicle registration using the official agency instructions. Confirm current requirements before visiting.
Addresses and phone numbers for offices in Alabama's larger cities.
Loading Alabama offices…
Tap "Near me" or enter a city or ZIP. Your location is used once for the search and never saved.
Find a Alabama office near you
Your location is used once for this search and never saved.
Ask Ava — she answers with checked Alabama guidance and links to the official source.
Run a dealership, title service or fleet? See DMV.ai for businesses
Tap a state