Tennessee DMV fees and documents
Every Tennessee fee and document DMV.ai has on file, grouped by task. Each one links to the official page it came from. Anything a state page doesn't state is left out, not guessed.
15 items across 4 tasks.
Change your address
Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland SecurityFees
Not stated
Not stated
Documents
Your details for a mail request
Name, date of birth, license number, SSN, old and new address, county, signature.
Source: tn.gov
Driver’s license renewal
Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland SecurityFirst-time driver's license
Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland SecurityFees
$5
Documents
Proof of citizenship or legal presence
Name change document
If applicable.
Parental approval
Under 18.
Source: tn.gov
New resident guide
Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland SecurityDocuments
Proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful presence
Two proofs of Tennessee residency
Most current out-of-state registration
Out-of-state title or lienholder name/address
Source: tn.gov
Minimum car insurance
25/50/25 liability
"The required minimum limits of your liability car insurance are: $25,000 for each injury or death per accident. $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident. $25,000 for property damage per accident."
revenue.support.tn.gov · Checked Oct 3, 2026 · Minimums only; lenders may require more.
DMV.ai is independent of the Tennessee agency. Only the agency can confirm your eligibility, full requirements and final fees.