New Jersey DMV fees and documents

    Every New Jersey fee and document DMV.ai has on file, grouped by task. Each one links to the official page it came from. Anything a state page doesn't state is left out, not guessed.

    29 items across 7 tasks.

    Change your address

    Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Fees

    • Online address change

      No charge.

      nj.gov

      Not stated

    • Duplicate license

      $11, optional.

      nj.gov

      Not stated

    • Updated registration

      $5 ($11 for 4-year), optional.

      nj.gov

      Not stated

    Documents

    • 6 Points of ID and proof of address

      Only if you order a duplicate license at an agency.

    Source: nj.gov

    Driver’s license renewal

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Fees

    • Standard Class D license renewal

      Other classes and REAL ID upgrades differ; confirm with MVC.

      nj.gov

      $24

    Documents

    • Current license or renewal information

      Check MVC’s requirements for your chosen renewal method.

    • Identification for office visits

      MVC may require six points of ID and proof of address; confirm your case.

    Source: nj.gov

    First-time driver's license

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Documents

    • 6 Points of ID

    • Proof of New Jersey address

    • Social Security number or ITIN

    Source: nj.gov

    New resident guide

    Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Fees

    • Fees on the official page

      Confirm current amounts with the agency

      nj.gov

      Transfer permit $10 ($5 more for a motorcycle endorsement)

    Documents

    • Current valid driver's license

    • 6 Points of ID documents

    • Vehicle title

    • NJ insurance card or policy information

    • Vehicle Registration Application (BA-49)

    Source: nj.gov

    REAL ID

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Fees

    • REAL ID upgrade outside renewal, when applicable

      Credential transaction fees differ by type; confirm your case with MVC.

      nj.gov

      $11

    • Standard Class D renewal with REAL ID, when applicable

      MVC lists a $24 renewal plus $11 REAL ID fee; other license types differ.

      nj.gov

      $35

    Documents

    • Six points of identity

      Check MVC’s document selector for qualifying primary and secondary identity documents.

    • Two proofs of New Jersey address

      Check acceptable types and recency with MVC.

    • Social Security number evidence

      Check MVC’s selector for acceptable evidence; never provide it to DMV.ai.

    Source: nj.gov

    Title transfer

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Fees

    • Standard title

      Financed titles and additional liens cost more; confirm with MVC.

      nj.gov

      $60

    • Late transfer penalty, if applicable

      MVC lists a penalty after 10 working days; confirm the deadline for your case.

      nj.gov

      $25

    Documents

    • Properly assigned original title

      Follow MVC’s buyer/seller assignment requirements; do not upload it to DMV.ai.

    • Sale and tax information

      Check MVC’s sales-tax and bill-of-sale requirements for your transaction.

    Source: nj.gov

    Vehicle registration

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Fees

    • Passenger registration

      MVC calculates the fee by vehicle class, weight and age; check its current registration fee schedule.

      nj.gov

      Varies

    Documents

    • Ownership document

      MVC lists a properly assigned title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin as applicable.

    • New Jersey insurance

      Check MVC’s proof-of-coverage requirements; do not enter policy details on DMV.ai.

    • Owner identification

      Follow MVC’s six-point identity requirements; do not upload records to DMV.ai.

    Source: nj.gov

    DMV.ai is independent of the New Jersey agency. Only the agency can confirm your eligibility, full requirements and final fees.