Minnesota DMV fees and documents

    Every Minnesota fee and document DMV.ai has on file, grouped by task. Each one links to the official page it came from. Anything a state page doesn't state is left out, not guessed.

    19 items across 5 tasks.

    Boat registration

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

    Fees

    Documents

    • Watercraft Title & Registration Application

      DNR form LB014.

    • Sales receipt

      Proof of sales tax payment.

    Source: dnr.state.mn.us

    Change your address

    Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services

    Fees

    • Duplicate/renewal

      Amount not stated on the official page.

      dps.mn.gov

      Not stated

    Documents

    • Current license/ID

      Bring to the office.

    • Two proofs of residence

      REAL ID only.

    Source: dps.mn.gov

    Driver’s license renewal

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services

    Fees

    Documents

    • Current Minnesota license

      Bring it to the visit.

    • Proof of residence (if applicable)

      If your address changed and you hold a REAL ID or enhanced card.

    Source: dps.mn.gov

    First-time driver's license

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services

    Fees

    • Class D instruction permit

      Valid 2 years

      dps.mn.gov

      $29.50

    • Class D driver's license

      Standard/original

      dps.mn.gov

      $46

    • Provisional driver's license

      Teen intermediate license

      dps.mn.gov

      $32.50

    Documents

    • Proof of identity and residency

      Required for all applications per MN Statute 171.06

    Source: dps.mn.gov

    New resident guide

    Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)

    Documents

    • Out-of-state license

    • Current vehicle title

    • Proof of insurance

    Source: dps.mn.gov

    DMV.ai is independent of the Minnesota agency. Only the agency can confirm your eligibility, full requirements and final fees.