Indiana DMV fees and documents

    Every Indiana fee and document DMV.ai has on file, grouped by task. Each one links to the official page it came from. Anything a state page doesn't state is left out, not guessed.

    28 items across 7 tasks.

    Change your address

    Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles

    Fees

    • Amended license

      Replacement license fee; amount not stated on the official page.

      in.gov

      Not stated

    Documents

    • Two proofs of address

      When changing your legal address during a vehicle transaction.

    Source: in.gov

    Driver’s license renewal

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles

    Fees

    • Late renewal administrative penalty

      Charged if renewed after expiration

      in.gov

      $6.00

    Documents

    • Current license/ID

      Used to verify identity for renewal.

    • Verified mailing address

      Confirm or update the address the new card will be mailed to before checkout.

    Source: in.gov

    First-time driver's license

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles

    Documents

    • Proof of identity

    • Proof of SSN

    • Proof of lawful status

    • Two proofs of Indiana residency

    Source: in.gov

    New resident guide

    Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

    Fees

    Documents

    • Out-of-state license or driving record

    • Proof of identity, SSN, Indiana residency

    • Out-of-state title

    Source: in.gov

    REAL ID

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles

    Documents

    • Proof of Identity

      One document such as a U.S. birth certificate or unexpired U.S. passport

    • Proof of Name/DOB Change

      Required if current legal name differs from ID document

    • Proof of Lawful Status

      One document proving lawful presence in the U.S.

    • Proof of Social Security

      One document with full SSN such as a Social Security card or W-2

    Source: in.gov

    Title transfer

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles

    Fees

    • Issue, duplicate or replace title

      Indiana BMV title fee

      in.gov

      $15.00

    Documents

    • 45-Day Application Window

      Certificate of title must be applied for within 45 days of purchase

    • Completed Title Sections

      Seller and purchaser sections on the certificate of title must be completed before visiting a branch

    • Sales Tax Payment

      Sales tax must be paid at a branch for private purchases when applying for title

    Source: in.gov

    Vehicle registration

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles

    Fees

    • Passenger motor vehicle registration

      Standard non-prorated annual registration fee for a passenger motor vehicle

      in.gov

      $21.35

    Documents

    • Vehicle Must Be Titled First

      Vehicle must be titled before registration

    • Two Proofs of Address

      Required if changing legal address during the registration transaction

    • Emissions Test

      Required for Lake and Porter county residents

    • Proof of Insurance

      Required if insurance has changed since the last registration transaction

    Source: in.gov

    Minimum car insurance

    25/50/25 liability

    "The state minimum insurance standard is $25,000 for bodily injury to, or the death of, one individual; $50,000 for bodily injury to, or the death of, two or more people in any one accident; and $25,000 for property damages in any one accident. This is commonly referred to as 25/50/25 liability insurance."

    in.gov · Checked Oct 3, 2026 · Minimums only; lenders may require more.

    DMV.ai is independent of the Indiana agency. Only the agency can confirm your eligibility, full requirements and final fees.