Idaho DMV fees and documents

    Every Idaho fee and document DMV.ai has on file, grouped by task. Each one links to the official page it came from. Anything a state page doesn't state is left out, not guessed.

    26 items across 7 tasks.

    Change your address

    Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Idaho Transportation Department

    Fees

    • Address change

      Not stated on the official page.

      itd.idaho.gov

      Not stated

    • New printed card

      Not stated on the official page.

      itd.idaho.gov

      Not stated

    Documents

    • Form ITD 3239

      Only if you mail it in.

    Source: itd.idaho.gov

    Driver’s license renewal

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Idaho Transportation Department, Division of Motor Vehicles

    Fees

    • 4-Year operator license (age 21 and over)

      Standard Class D license renewal fee

      itd.idaho.gov

      $35.00

    Documents

    • Identification documents (Star Card only)

      Required only when upgrading to a Star Card in person.

    Source: itd.idaho.gov

    First-time driver's license

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Idaho Transportation Department

    Fees

    • Instruction Permit

      Fee for an Idaho instruction (learner) permit

      itd.idaho.gov

      $20.00

    • Knowledge Written Test

      Fee for the knowledge/written test

      itd.idaho.gov

      $5.00

    Documents

    • Proof of lawful presence

    • Proof of identity

    • Proof of Idaho residency

    • Proof of school enrollment

      Under 18.

    Source: itd.idaho.gov

    New resident guide

    Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Idaho Transportation Department (ITD), Division of Motor Vehicles

    Fees

    • Fees on the official page

      Confirm current amounts with the agency

      itd.idaho.gov

      $3.75 per new plate; EMS $1.25; ISP $3.00 (example figures)

    Documents

    • Proof of citizenship/lawful presence

    • Proof of Idaho residency

    • Out-of-state title

    Source: itd.idaho.gov

    REAL ID

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Idaho Transportation Department

    Fees

    • 4-Year operator license (age 21 and over)

      Star Card/license fee follows standard Class D license fee schedule

      itd.idaho.gov

      $35.00

    Documents

    • Proof of identity

      One identity source document such as a valid U.S. passport or certified birth certificate

    • Social Security number

      Provide your Social Security number for electronic verification

    • Two proofs of Idaho residency

      Two documents from different sources showing your Idaho address

    • Name-change documents

      Certified marriage, divorce, or court documents if your name differs from your ID

    Source: itd.idaho.gov

    Title transfer

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Idaho Transportation Department

    Documents

    • Existing title, properly signed

      Existing title with proper signatures releasing interest from the previous owner or lienholder

    • Odometer disclosure

      Required for vehicles newer than 2010 and under 16,000 lbs

    • VIN inspection

      Completed by law enforcement, DMV employee, military police, or licensed dealer for out-of-state/never titled vehicles

    Source: itd.idaho.gov

    Vehicle registration

    Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Idaho Transportation Department

    Documents

    • Vehicle must be titled in Idaho first

      The vehicle must be titled in Idaho before it can be registered

    • Identifying number

      Idaho driver's license, ID card, SSN, or EIN for businesses

    • Verifiable addresses

      A verifiable physical address and mailing address are required

    Source: itd.idaho.gov

    DMV.ai is independent of the Idaho agency. Only the agency can confirm your eligibility, full requirements and final fees.