Georgia DMV fees and documents
Every Georgia fee and document DMV.ai has on file, grouped by task. Each one links to the official page it came from. Anything a state page doesn't state is left out, not guessed.
29 items across 7 tasks.
Change your address
Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Georgia Department of Revenue / Department of Driver ServicesFees
Not stated
Not stated
Documents
Proof of residency
Lease, deed, closing statement or utility bill, for the vehicle update.
Source: dor.georgia.gov
Driver’s license renewal
Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Georgia Department of Driver ServicesFees
Standard eight-year license renewal
Eligible online transactions may receive a discount; other credentials and circumstances differ.
dds.georgia.gov$32
Documents
Current license and renewal information
Review DDS requirements for the method you use.
Additional identity or residency documents if needed
Follow DDS requirements for a new REAL ID, changes or in-person renewal.
Source: dds.georgia.gov
First-time driver's license
Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Georgia Department of Driver ServicesFees
Class CP permit
dds.georgia.gov$10
Class D license
dds.georgia.gov$10
Documents
Identity, lawful presence, residency
Proof of school enrollment
Under 18.
Parent/guardian signature
Under 18.
Source: dds.georgia.gov
New resident guide
Reviewed Oct 1, 2026 · Georgia Department of Revenue (vehicles) / Dept. of Driver Services (licenses)Fees
Annual registration fee
Standard Georgia annual registration fee for new residents titling a vehicle.
dor.georgia.gov$20.00
$18.00
Documents
Georgia driver's license/ID
MV-1 Title/Tag Application
Out-of-state title
Form T-17 (if applicable)
Source: dor.georgia.gov
REAL ID
Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Georgia Department of Driver ServicesFees
Standard eight-year driver license, if applicable
This is a credential transaction fee, not a separate universal REAL ID charge; ID and replacement fees may differ.
dds.georgia.gov$32
Documents
Proof of identity
Check DDS’s list of acceptable original or certified documents.
Georgia residence evidence
DDS lists two residency documents for a credential application; check your situation.
Name-change evidence, if applicable
Follow DDS instructions if your current name differs from your identity document.
Source: dds.georgia.gov
Title transfer
Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Georgia Department of RevenueFees
Original title application
Registration, applicable TAVT and county charges are separate; confirm with DOR and your county tag office.
dor.georgia.gov$18
Documents
Properly assigned original Georgia title
Follow DOR assignment instructions; do not upload this document to DMV.ai.
Title and tag application
Check the county tag office instructions for the applicable MV-1 application.
Source: dor.georgia.gov
Vehicle registration
Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 · Georgia Department of RevenueFees
Passenger registration
DOR lists this standard fee; title fee, county charges and TAVT can also apply.
dor.georgia.gov$20
Title application, when required
Confirm applicable taxes and total at the county tag office.
dor.georgia.gov$18
Documents
Vehicle ownership evidence
Follow DOR’s out-of-state title or applicable registration requirements; do not upload records to DMV.ai.
Georgia driver license or ID
DOR lists a Georgia credential for new-resident registration.
Georgia insurance and emissions, if applicable
Check official state and county rules; do not give policy details to DMV.ai.
Source: dor.georgia.gov
DMV.ai is independent of the Georgia agency. Only the agency can confirm your eligibility, full requirements and final fees.